AGENDA

Committee DEMOCRATIC SERVICES COMMITTEE

Date & Time THURSDAY 26 JULY 2012 AT 2.00PM of Meeting

Venue COMMITTEE ROOM 4, COUNTY HALL, ATLANTIC WHARF, CARDIFF

Membership County Councillor Cowan (Chairperson). County Councillors Ali, Chaundy, Furlong, Goddard, Holland, Hyde, Keith Jones, Margaret Jones, Marshall, McKerlich, and Benjamin Thomas.

1. Chairperson.

To note that the Council at its meeting on 17 May 2012 appointed Councillor Cowan as Chairperson of this Committee.

2. Appointment of Committee and Terms of Reference.

Membership

The Council at its meeting on 17 May 2012 appointed the following Members to this Committee:

County Councillors Ali, Chaundy, Cowan, Furlong, Goddard, Holland, Hyde, Keith Jones, Margaret Jones, Marshall, McKerlich, and Benjamin Thomas.

Terms of Reference

- To carry out the local authority's function of designating the Head of Democratic Services;
- To keep under review the provision of staff, accommodation and other resources made available to the Head of Democratic Services in order to ensure that it is adequate for the responsibilities of the post;
- To make reports, at least annually, to the full Council in relation to these matters.
- 3. Apologies for Absence.
- 4. Declarations of Interest to be made at the start of the agenda item in question, in accordance with the Members' Code of Conduct.

- 5. Local Government (Wales) Measure 2011 Statutory Guidance on Democratic Services Committee and Head of Democratic Services report of the Chief Officer Legal and Democratic Services and Monitoring Officer attached.
- 6. Terms of Reference report of the Chief Officer Legal and Democratic Services and Monitoring Officer attached.
- 7. Developing a Work Programme for discussion and review of any feedback on topics received from Committee Members in advance of the meeting.
- 8. Frequency and Timing of Meeting for discussion.

JON HOUSE Chief Executive 20 July 2012

CONTACT: Gill Nurton Tel No: 2087 2432 Email: g.nurton@cardiff.gov.uk